Entertainment From The Editors

Kesha’s New Album “Rainbow” Saved Her Life – Releasing Friday

Speaking to GMA host Robin Roberts Wednesday morning, the “Die Young” singer, Kesha Sebert, spoke about her upcoming, deeply personal, album – “Rainbow” and how it “quite literally” saved her life. The album is due to release on Friday.

“I’ve written every song on this album and they’re all so personal,” Kesha told Roberts. “This record, quite literally, saved my life. I hope you guys like it and I hope you can hear it, and I hope it helps people.”

Explaining why she chose the title Rainbow for her album, Kesha said: “I think color symbolizes hope and Rainbow, you know, is a coincidence that it’s also a symbol for the LGBTQ community. But I’ve always just found, like, the hope in the bright colors and I wanted to bring them more into my everyday life.”

She went on to somewhat admit to a kind of obsession with rainbows, what with her house “covered in rainbows” and ten rainbow tattoos on her body.

Kesha with with Dr Luke on GMA 
Kesha with Dr Luke on GMA 

Title aside, the album also represents a family collaboration of sorts – “a total family affair” as Kesha herself called it – with both her mother and brother contributing in one way or another, including a new addition to the family – guess who! None other than the great Dolly Parton!

“I consider her family now,” Kesha beamed. “That was like, the craziest thing in the world to me that she like actually said yes to collaborating with me, I’m still not over it, so I’m just going to tell everybody about it forever.”

Despite all the positivity talk about the title and the “total family affair” angle, Kesha was rather emotional at the start talking about her personal travails without going into details.

Talking about the lead song “Praying,” she said: “It talks about me personally going through something very hard, lots of very hard things, making it through, not giving up, and finding empathy on the other side — which is incredibly hard sometimes.”

Releasing tomorrow by Kemosabe and RCA Records, Rainbow is Kesha’s third studio album after Animal (2010) and Warrior (2012). It has been a long hiatus for Kesha, of almost five years, but from the looks of it, Rainbow may well prove to be worthy of the longish wait.

Just hours before Kesha appeared on Good Morning America, fans got a good preview of some songs from the album leaked online, including “Praying,” “Woman” and “Hymn.”

Rainbow tracks

1. “Bastards”
2. “Let ’em Talk” (featuring Eagles of Death Metal)
3. “Woman” (featuring The Dap-Kings Horns)
4. “Hymn”
5. “Praying”
6. “Learn to Let Go”
7. “Finding You”
8. “Rainbow”
9. “Hunt You Down”
10. “Boogie Feet” (featuring Eagles of Death Metal)
11. “Boots”
12. “Old Flames (Can’t Hold a Candle to You)” (featuring Dolly Parton)
13. “Godzilla”
14 “Spaceship”

Reviewing the album a month ago Baillie wrote that is was a “powerful, emotional and strongly feminist record that is worth the four-year wait.” She described the album as “a roller coaster of emotions, making you weep at the sadness of Rainbow and fist-pumping the air with Woman, and it was so worth the wait.” She wrote that the “vulnerability of some songs will bring a tear to your eye, while others are so close to Kesha’s old sound it’ll have dance floors filled everywhere in no time.”

Leave your vote

3 points
Upvote Downvote

Total votes: 3

Upvotes: 3

Upvotes percentage: 100.000000%

Downvotes: 0

Downvotes percentage: 0.000000%

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *